Stainer sizzles

January 24, 2018

Danny Stainer was the Midget Grand Prix winner. Image: Vern and Jackie Parker.

THE action at Rushworth Speedway on January 13 was, as expected, sensational across all divisions.

Impressive wins to Danny Stainer in Grand Prix Midgets, Lennie Clark in 3 Litre Sedans and Paul Lamb in the Paul Benton Memorial for GV Sedans were the highlights.

The visiting Grand Prix Midget Association of Victoria were in town for the Ironbark Classic and among the field were the likes of current Australian champion Trevor Perry, former national champion Paul Perry, multiple times champion Dennis Myers and Compact Speedcar legend Danny Stainer, who is racing in the Midgets for car owner Mark Shiells.

Three qualifying races were split, with Trevor Perry picking up two wins and Myers in his new Perry-built race car picking up the other.

Come feature time, Stainer was the clear winner from Crawford, Chalcraft, Bacon, Perry and Denning.

Bendigo driver Lennie Clark won two out of three qualifying races in the 3L sedans with a best one-lap time during the races of 18.641, while Horsham racer Steve Ellis took out the other qualifier.

Clark was too strong in the feature race, leading every lap from Michael Boyle of the Swan Hill Speedway Club.

The biggest one-day event of the season for local competitors is the Paul Benton Memorial, honouring the late president of the Goulburn Valley Auto Club. This event pits Goulburn Valley Open Saloon competitors up against Goulburn Valley Production Sedan competitors.

Adam Box started his day well with a win in the first of six qualifying races. Paul Lamb won the second heat.

In round two Lamb won his second heat and Box won his.

Finally, in race five Lamb and Box came up in the same race.

Thomas Conboy was in the battle until mid-race. Box was in the lead until Lamb passed him to take the win. Brad Simmonds started last in the final qualifier, picked up the lead by lap two and went on to win.

The 20 lap Benton Memorial race got under way, however robbing the crowd of something they were hoping to see was the fact that Box did not make the race.

Lamb was the top qualifier and he led all the way from pole position, from Garry Gapes, Keith Simmonds, Leigh Jeffrey from the Productions and Mark Bergmann all on the lead lap.

In the feature event for the Junior Sedans, Josh Cecil, then Tristan McGraw and finally Lachie Fitzpatrick led the first three laps of the race in a sensational start. Fitzpatrick went on to record the win from McGraw, Josh Cecil, Luke Cecil and Daniel Smith.

In Ladies Saloon action, Chloe Lamb led every lap of the final to win from Belinda Chalcraft, Felicity Roycroft, Nicole Gapes and Tara Mitchell.

Action returns to Rushworth Speedway on February 3.

More in Kyabram Free Press
Login Sign Up

Dummy text