Salute to settlers

March 08, 2018

Unveiling the Dedication gabion wall - Anne Vickers, Craig Forster, John Crilly (Sec Girgarre RSL), Rob Axen (Treas RSL), Ron Gregory and Julie Lee.

GIRGARRE RSL’s tribute to local closer and WWI soldier settlers was unveiled at a ceremony on February 25 with a dedication wall on park land in Station St.

About 150 people attended, where the MC for the day, former Girgarre farmer and Deakin Shire councillor Neil Grummitt, presented speakers who included Campaspe Shire mayor Adrian Weston, RSL members John Crilly, Robert Axen and Laurie Young, and Girgarre community leaders Sandra McDonald of the Girgarre Rail Trail and Jan Smith of the Girgarre Development Group.

Ron Gregory, Craig Forster, Julie Lee (Ivanhoe NSW) and former Girgarre local Anne Vickers, who now resides in Kyabram, unveiled the commemoration.

Following the unveiling, afternoon tea provided by the Rushworth and District Community Bank was catered for by the Girgarre Development Group in the Girgarre Memorial Hall.

More in Kyabram Free Press
Login Sign Up

Dummy text