Service is celebrated

May 02, 2018

Sally Donaldon, Rory Kerr, Clare Kerr, April McKenzie and Kyra Clark accept their service awards.

KYABRAM District Health Service presented five awards at its recent staff lunch, headlined by the 12-year service recognition of pharmacists Clare and Rory Kerr.

Clare and Rory moved to Kyabram in 1997, both coming from a hospital background.

“We have both enjoyed our time here at Kyabram Health,” Rory said. “We want to thank everyone for their support and friendship along the way.

“At times it has been tough to balance family and work but we have done it together.

“We look forward to continuing to help the Kyabram community for as long as we can.”

For their efforts, Clare and Rory were presented with a cartoon of themselves — something the humble pair seemed keen to keep under wraps.

Other award recipients were Sandy Donaldson for 10 years’ service, April McKenzie for 10 years’ service and Kyra Clark for a mammoth 30 years of service.

“Sandy is a very versatile team member with knowledge across Sheridan, PAG and bus outings. She also has her bus license which is of great assistance for our outings,” KDHS chief executive Peter Abraham said.

“Sandy thoroughly enjoys her work, getting to know clients and residents and providing them with activities of interest.

“April has undertaken a number of diverse roles while at Kyabram, working across the clinical space most recently as a Diabetes Educator and now as Primary Health manager.

“She is a versatile and valued team member who has embraced her role as a program manager, with an amazing thirst for knowledge and ability to support the team. Kyra has had an extensive nursing career working in Melbourne, Gladstone and Alice Springs before commencing work at Kyabram in 1988 as a night duty nurse before joining the District Nursing team.

“In 2002 Kyra successfully became the hospital’s theatre liaison officer and discharge co-ordinator. In 2009 Kyra coordinated the implementation of the hospital’s new Transitional Care Program which enhances the discharge options for patients, while maintaining her position as discharge co-ordinator.

“Kyra is a fantastic member of staff who communicates effectively with staff and patients alike.”

Absent recipients of awards were Michelle Collier for 10 years, Diane Roberts for 25 years and Dympna Hayes for 30 years.

More in Kyabram Free Press
Login Sign Up

Dummy text