The Lions hand out accolades for teams of the decades

May 09, 2018

The Undera Football Club best team overall 1960-2009.

THE Undera Team of the Decades Night was held on April 28, with past and present players combining to celebrate the football and netball club’s long history.

In an incredible turnout, about 260 people packed out the McIntosh Centre at the Shepparton Showgrounds.

“We started with the football teams from the 60s and 70s, as there was no netball, and from then on we just did netball and footy teams of the 80s and so on,” said John Fanning, who helped organise the event.

“Anyone that was in one of the teams and was present got up and had a photo.

“I think out of those teams from the 60s and 70s we had almost 100 people come, which was an amazing effort.”

After naming the teams of each decade the club then proceeded to announce the teams of the last 50 years.

The teams were filled with superstars from Undera FNC who had played their own role in shaping the club.

Mr Fanning said the naming of the teams was the drawcard of the night, but seeing some old friends also made it worthwhile.

“It was a good chance for us older blokes who hadn’t seen each other in 30 or 40 years to catch up,” he said.

“Someone said to me ‘I think you older guys are having the best time’, and he was right.

“People came from interstate too which is just a great effort.”

The best football team overall from 1960-2009 was as follows:

B: Mark Winterton, Mal Lennie, Danni Heazlewood

HB: Heath Fidock, Des Sleeth, Glenn Campbell

C: Craig Chandler, Pat Sleeth, Spiro Vourgaslis

HF: Matt Pell, John Sellwood (c), Neville Mackrell

F: John Neal, Sam LaPorta, David Giles

Foll: Daniel Breen, Daniel Godsmark, Lloyd O’Brien

Bench: Graham Burgman, Colin Gundrill, Doug Hazell, Owen Macreadie, Ben Stoertebecker, Kevin Tyndall. Coach: Terry Mahoney

Timekeeper: George Nicholl

More in Kyabram Free Press
Login Sign Up

Dummy text