Six Bombers set to represent GVL in interleague clash

Kyabram flavour: New Goulburn Valley football interleague coach Paul Newman (third from left) and Kyabram players (from left) Brad Whitford, Kyle Mueller, Zac Norris, Tom Holman, Lachie Smith, Mick Mattingly and Kayne Pettifer, who were involved in the winning GVL team against the Western Region Football League at Werribee. Photo by Supplied

Kyabram Football Club will have six players representing the club in the GVL side to meet the Ovens and Murray League at Mooroopna on Saturday week.

Premiership Kyabram players Jason Morgan, Lachy Smith, Tom Holman and Zac Norris plus Zac Keogh and Kaine Herbert, are in the final squad of 22 players.

Herbert is the only one to have not represented the league previously.

The added Kyabram interest in the game is that Paul Newman will coach the GVL for the first time after an illustrious interleague career as a player and captain of GVL sides.

Kyabram could also have the honour of having the GVL captain or vice-captain, with veteran Jason Morgan among the leading candidates.

Newman and his co-selectors Lawrie Casey, Brad Campbell and Simon Maddox have opted to pick a team to go straight into battle without an elimination selection process and only the one training session to be held next Wednesday night at Mooroopna.

Newman was only interested in picking players who believe it is an honour to represent the league and to test themselves at a higher standard.

Selectors will also play players in positions they are accustomed to.

The GVL team is:

Kyabram: Lachy Smith, Zac Keogh, Kaine Herbert, Zac Norris, Jason Morgan, Tom Holman.

Tatura: Brad Ryan.

Shepparton: Mitch Brett, Anthony Andronico.

Seymour: Michael Hartley, Jack Murphy.

Mooroopna: Chris Nield.

Rochester: Steve Stroobants.

Euroa: Jett Trotter.

Mansfield: Brett Mahoney, Pat Marks.

Echuca: Ben Reid, Jack McHale, Logan Prout, Jack Evans, Riley Smith.